Externally funded project

Determinative factors of social inequalities and consequences of university dropout and change of courses of study (BUKSS)


Abstract


Student dropout is being assessed as a negative phenomenon as well as from a social as from the individual’s perspective. Since the frequency of Student drop and change of course of study is known to be influenced by the students’ social background and since so far only a few theory-based empirical studies are available, the BUKKS project of INCHER-Kassel aims at answering the following questions:



- What causes these social disparities?



- How does the change of course affect the further course of studies?



- What are the labor market consequences of the change of course or the final dropout?



Firstly the project aims to identify the determinants of social inequalities in dropout and the change of course of study which are changing through intercultural interventions. The second aim is to investigate the consequences on the labour market in case of prior university dropout or change of course of study. This will allow the development of intervention measures within and outside universities.



Using the data of the start cohort 5 of the German National Educational Panel (NEPS) the extent of social disparities of dropout and change of course will be estimated. The independent explanatory power of different theoretical approaches for socially different dropout frequency will be investigated in multivariate regression models - such as Tinto's integration model, Bourdieu's theory of social reproduction and the theory of rational choice. The study also examines if and how the change of course can lead to a successful completion of studies or contrary increase the risk of a definitive dropout. Subsequently long-term consequences of the change of course and dropout will be analyzed retrospectively with data from the start cohort 6 of the NEPS.



Matching procedures will be used to examine the success on the labor market former dropouts and students who changed their course. The educational rates of the respective groups will be compared with those of comparable persons without tertiary education experience.



Keywords
Befragung, Dropout, Fachhochschule, Germany, Graduate Survey, Hochschule, Studienabbruch, Ungleichheit, Universität, University

Last updated on 2018-08-03 at 15:56

Drittmittelprojekt

Bestimmungsfaktoren sozialer Ungleichheiten und Konsequenzen des Studienabbruchs und Studiengangwechsels (BUKSS)


Zusammenfassung


Studierende aus bildungsfernen Schichten brechen ihr Studium häufiger ab und wechseln häufiger den Studiengang. Da Studienabbruch als wichtiges gesamtgesellschaftliches und individuelles Phänomen diskutiert wird und bisher nur wenige theoriegeleitete empirische Studien dazu vorliegen, widmet sich das BUKKS-Projekt des INCHER-Kassel folgenden Fragen:




  • Welche Ursachen führen zu diesen sozialen Disparitäten?


  • Wie wirkt sich Studiengangwechsel auf den weiteren Studienverlauf aus ?


  • Welche arbeitsmarktrelevanten Konsequenzen haben der Wechsel des Studiengangs oder der endgültige Abbruch des Studiums?



Das Projekt zielt erstens darauf Bestimmungsfaktoren sozialer Ungleichheiten beim Studienabbruch und Studiengangwechsel zu identifizieren, die sich durch hochschulpolitische Interventionen verändern lassen. Das zweite Ziel ist die Untersuchung der Folgen eines Studiengangwechsels für den weiteren Studienverlauf. Drittens werden die arbeitsmarktrelevanten Konsequenzen des Studienabbruchs und Studiengangwechsels untersucht.  Dies erlaubt eine klare Prioritätensetzung bei der Entwicklung von Interventionsmaßnahmen innerhalb und außerhalb der Hochschulen.



Mit den Daten der Startkohorte 5 des Nationalen Bildungspanels (NEPS) wird zunächst das Ausmaß sozialer Disparitäten beim Studienabbruch und Studiengangwechsel geschätzt. In multivariaten Regressionsmodellen wird dann die eigenständige Erklärungskraft unterschiedlicher theoretischer Ansätze - etwa Tintos Integrationsmodell, Bourdieus Theorie der sozialen Reproduktion sowie die Theorie der rationalen Wahl  -  für die soziale Ungleichheit bei Studienabbruch und Studiengangwechsel untersucht. Ebenso wird geprüft, inwiefern Studiengangwechsel als Korrektur des individuellen Studienverlaufs einen erfolgreichen Abschluss begünstigen oder umgekehrt das Risiko eines endgültigen Studienabbruchs erhöhen. Langfristige Konsequenzen von Studiengangwechsel und Studienabbruch werden anschließend retrospektiv mit Daten der Startkohorte 6 des NEPS analysiert. Mit Matching-Verfahren wird der Arbeitsmarkterfolg von Studienabbrechern und -abbrecherinnen sowie Studiengangwechslern und –wechslerinnen untersucht. Die Bildungsrenditen der Betroffenen werden mit denen vergleichbarer Personen ohne tertiäre Bildungserfahrung kontrastiert.



Schlagwörter
Befragung, Dropout, Fachhochschule, Germany, Graduate Survey, Hochschule, Studienabbruch, Ungleichheit, Universität, University

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2018-08-03 um 15:56